Tuesday, July 21, 2009

The Deadliest Warrior: Green Berets vs Spetsnaz

I was kinda disappointed with this episode of the Deadliest Warrior featuring the Green Berets vs Spetsnaz. Just like the previous episode this one would feature group combat instead of the traditional one-on-one combat nature of the show. The Green Berets and Spetsnaz are both highly trained special forces units that have never met in battle (or so they say). I felt that this show was gonna be very interesting given the use of modern weapons and military tactics.


I think the Deadliest Warrior crew really screwed up several times on this Green Berets vs Spetsnaz episode. The ways that they tested the weapons was all wrong in my opinion. They used completely different tests to get data for the grenades and shotguns. What is the point of testing the same weapons with different test subjects because obviously you're gonna get different results.


The Deadliest Warrior crew had the Spetsnaz throw a grenade in a washing machine and the Green Berets throw theirs in a wooden booth. Guess which one got destroyed with more impact? Obviously the wooden object is gonna get destroyed much more easily than a metal washing machine. Then they tested the shotguns and had the Green Berets shoot a dead pig three times as fast as possible to check the speed and power. They turn right around and tell the Spetsnaz guy that he has to run and shoot three different targets in the same time or faster. How is that fair? Furthermore how does that do anything to prove which one is the better weapon? Isn't that the whole point of the Deadliest Warrior?


At the end of the show the Soviet Saiga shotgun was the difference in the closest show yet for the Deadliest Warrior series. The Green Berets vs Spetsnaz episode of the Deadliest Warrior was decided by just 12 kills out of 1,000. I don't think the Americans on the show were very happy with the result but life goes on unless these guys decide to fight it out.

(Bukisa ID #95722)

Content Source: The Deadliest Warrior: Green Berets vs Spetsnaz - Bukisa.com

The Deadliest Warrior: Yakuza vs Mafia

In this episode the Deadliest Warrior would take a turn away from the usual person vs person format and go to some group warfare in the Yakuza vs Mafia showdown. The Yakuza and Mafia were basically gangs during the 1920-1950 timeframe and they ruled the streets with above average firepower and ruthless aggression. These groups never met so the debate had existed for awhile but after this episode many questions would be answered and the winner declared the Deadliest Warrior.


The weapons the Deadliest Warrior crew were about to test would be the most modern yet for the show so they had some updated test areas. I felt right off the bat that the Mafia had several weapons that were gonna just be too much firepower for example the Tommy Gun and sawed-off shotgun. The Yakuza had some very impressive weapons like the British Sten machine gun and Walter P38 both of which had extremely impressive accuracy. I just felt that the Americans were gonna have too much stopping power.


This was made very clear in the show that if the weapons were taken out of the picture then the Yakuza would be at an extreme advantage due to their martial arts training and background. I think the Deadliest Warrior crew made too much of a deal about the baseball bat. Obviously if you hit someone with a ball bat it's gonna do some damage but how often are you gonna get a clean shot against a martial arts expert with a sword or sai?


In the end the difference was ultimately the Tommy Gun. It decided the Yakuza vs Mafia matchup and made work easy for the Deadliest Warrior crew. I didn't like how the Deadliest Warrior replay at the end showed it coming down to a hand-to-hand battle and the mobster beating up his opponent. I guess the Yakuza with a sword or sai is no match for the Mafia with an ice pick.

(Bukisa ID #95721)

Content Source: The Deadliest Warrior: Yakuza vs Mafia - Bukisa.com

The Deadliest Warrior: Pirate vs Knight

This could be my favorite episode of the Deadliest Warrior so far with the Pirate vs Knight. I liked this one because we actually started to get into some more modern weaponry. It was gonna be interesting to see what an armored Knight could do against a Pirate with guns. How many people looked at that matchup and thought the guy with the gun wins this one? I'm sure a ton of people done that but this episode of the Deadliest Warrior had its fair share of surprises.


As they started testing the weapons it became clear very early in the episode that this whole matchup was gonna be about armor vs firepower. Could the Knight and his armor survive a round from a Pirate with his pistol or blunderbuss? It wouldn't take long to figure this out and get us on the road towards deciding which one would end up the Deadliest Warrior.


This whole show could be summed up at the firing range where they are testing out the Pirate's pistol and blunderbuss. The accuracy was decent but the firepower was there for sure. Then they lined up a dummy target fitted with a Knight's armor. I was amazed that the armor stopped a round from the pistol with ease. This had me thinking that the armored crusader may have a chance after all. But then the bearded raider pulled out the blunderbuss which was basically an old time shotgun. That weapon tore right through the armor with ease and impressed the Deadliest Warrior crew.


In the end the Deadliest Warrior simulation revealed that the blunderbuss was indeed the difference in the Pirate vs Knight matchup. The Pirate had almost as many kills with that one weapon as the Knight had with all his weapons combined which further showed why people stopped wearing that armor. My favorite part was the Deadliest Warrior replay which showed the Pirate using various dirty tactics and ultimately shooting the Knight in the face at the end.

(Bukisa ID #95719)

Content Source: The Deadliest Warrior: Pirate vs Knight - Bukisa.com

The Deadliest Warrior: Viking vs Samurai

In what would be the second show from the Deadliest Warrior the fans got to finally see a Viking vs Samurai. I looked at this episode and predicted the same result as in the Apache vs Gladiator. I felt that the Samurai would have too much precision and speed for the more powerful but slower and less accurate Viking. It wouldn't be too long before we found out which one was the Deadliest Warrior.


These two groups of people were very different in their ways. The Viking was a ruthless figure that went from area to area destroying towns and taking whatever they wanted as their own. The Samurai lived the calm but deadly lifestyle as they were raised to be farmers at home and warriors on the battlefield.


The weapons that both sides brought to the table also seemed to vary as well. In the matchup of Viking vs Samurai the European men would bring in a very powerful variety of swords, axes and spears. The Asian men would bring in a deadly blend of swords and a devastatingly accurate bow (Yumi). Which of these would prove to be the difference in deciding the Deadliest warrior?


In the end the Viking vs Samurai played out to declare the Asian warriors as the Deadliest Warrior. The long range Yumi bow was the difference in the battle much like the previous Apache vs Gladiator episode. I was shocked at how close this battle ended up being in the end. Out of 1,000 simulated battles the Asians ended up winning 522 to 478.

(Bukisa ID #95717)

Content Source: The Deadliest Warrior: Viking vs Samurai - Bukisa.com

The Deadliest Warrior: Spartan vs Ninja

This may have been the most controversial and talked about episode of the Deadliest Warrior to date. I'm talking about the Spartan vs Ninja showdown. Throughout history the Ninja have been feared for their stealth tactics and ability to kill undetected as assassins. The Spartan was a mighty soldier with basically no fear and the utmost fighting ability on the battlefield. I expected this to be a tough one with the Ninja winning with speed and precision much like the Apache and Samurai done in the previous episodes.


The Deadliest Warrior team started to break down the weapons for each side. The obvious better verified that in this Spartan vs Ninja showdown the kills were gonna come quick. The stealthy assassins were no match for the soldiers armor so they were gonna have to move quickly using hit and run tactics. The blowgun and black egg seemingly were gonna be the key in this strategy. The blowgun was shown to have extreme accuracy at up to 50 feet with poisonous darts. The black egg was a bustable ball filled with pepper and broken glass thrown in the eyes of the enemy. The Spartan shield was seemingly the thing that was gonna make life miserable for the Ninja on this Deadliest Warrior showdown.


After testing all the weapons they fired up the simulator to decide the Deadliest Warrior. The Spartan was declared the Deadliest Warrior by a surprisingly large margin. Some of the numbers were actually very surprising for the specific weapons. I think they put in some very skewed data. On the show they declared the blowgun the superior ranged weapon but it had half the kills of the Spartan ranged weapon.


The biggest problem I had with this Spartan vs Ninja episode of the Deadliest Warrior was the replay at the end of the show. There were numerous times in the battle where the Spartan lost track of the Ninja would could've easily put a poison dart or stabbed at the unprotected parts of the soldier's body but instead went after the armored areas? Also a couple times the stealthy assassin injured his opponent and then ran off rather than build on the advantage.

(Bukisa ID #95718)

Content Source: The Deadliest Warrior: Spartan vs Ninja - Bukisa.com

The Deadliest Warrior: Apache vs Gladiator

In what was hopefully the first of many episodes of the show fans got to see an Apache vs Gladiator on the Deadliest Warrior. The show was designed to settle all these impossible drunken arguments once for all. Each set of warriors is allowed to choose a set of weapons ranging from hand-to-hand to long range to take into battle. All of these weapons are tested and then assigned a value given the data. At the end of the show the results are simulated and a winner is determined followed by a dramatic replay acted out.


On this episode of the Deadliest Warrior we seen an Apache vs Gladiator. These warriors were really different in many ways. The Apache mainly used ambush tactics and fought with speed and stealth. The Gladiator fought in an arena in front of thousands and either had to kill or be killed in the process. The Deadliest Warrior team would find out exactly which one would win if they ever met in battle.


As the Deadliest Warrior team tested the weapons it became apparent that the Apache had weapons used to kill on the run. The knifes and bow and arrow exhibition put on by the Indians was very impressive especially the precision of the bow and such a long range. The Gladiator had weaponry designed for pure power and to get the job done. The Roman scissor and trident showed excellent killing power but the warrior just lacked anything with speed or range. I think it became pretty obvious early on that the Gladiator may not survive long enough to get in close and use those powerful weapons in the Deadliest Warrior simulation.


At the end when the Deadliest Warrior crew fired up the simulator my suspicions were confirmed in that the speed and ranged weapons of the Apache were just too much for the Gladiator. As the show wrapped up they discussed that was indeed the case in this Apache vs Gladiator matchup. A good first show but there would be plenty more to come of the Deadliest Warrior.

(Bukisa ID #95716)

Content Source: The Deadliest Warrior: Apache vs Gladiator - Bukisa.com

Does the Deadliest Warrior Miss the Mark?

Every Tuesday night Spike TV rolls out a new episode of the Deadliest Warrior. The show focuses on warriors from the past and pits them against each other as they try to figure out which ones would survive against the others. So we have seen the following episodes: ninja vs spartan, apache vs gladiator, samurai vs viking and pirate vs knight. I find the show interesting but some of the data and ways they determine outcomes just flat out don't make any sense.


The Deadliest Warrior episode that has caused the biggest stir online featured a ninja vs a spartan. The episode was pretty cool as they showed tests of the various weapons. The ninja had several weapons that seemingly would tilt the battle into his favor without a doubt. First he had the blowgun which could shoot out poisonous darts with insane accuracy. Then they had exploding balls of glass that they threw in the eyes of their opponent. The spartan shocked everyone with the power and durability of the shield.


In the simulated battle the creators of Deadliest Warrior claimed that the fact that the spartan had armor was the difference and declared the spartan the winner. The people at Deadliest Warrior failed to mention that ninjas also wore lightweight armor. This was just one of the many parts of the show that left me shaking my head. The final battle showed the ninja creeping right behind the spartan and then yelling before attacking the ancient soldier. Why would a ninja creep up behind someone and then yell? A real ninja would've shot a poisonous dart in his back and killed the spartan without ever being seen. Aside from that the fact that the spartan basically just rubbed his eyes after having glass thrown in his face was laughable at best.

(Bukisa ID #86355)

Content Source: Does the Deadliest Warrior Miss the Mark? - Bukisa.com